Who is The Man?

Evidently, my humans are being sorely inconvenienced by the man. I thought, at first, they were talking about the “man” but no. We are dealing with “the man.” This is not a tangible man. According to my extensive research (Wikipedia): “The Man” is a slang phrase that refers to the government leaders of large corporations, and other authority figures in general, rather than a specific person.

I wonder, is there a cat equivalent to the man? Can I blame all my qualms with feline society on “the cat”? I don’t think we have an all purpose scapegoat for what is wrong.

At first, I thought it was a good thing to be the man. But my roommates have shown that this is not at all the case. To rebel against the man, a person must do things they enjoy. Which brings me to a popular human trait: finding deeper justifications for doing what mainly benefits oneself.

I’ve gathered that rebelling against the man involves a few important steps:

  • 1. Rock and Roll (possibly the reason my humans constantly form fake rock bands)
  • 2. Not “selling out” (which is easily done when nobody is interested in “buying out” the individual in question)
  • 3. Excessive consumption of alcohol and/or drugs. (an aid to steps 1 and 4)
  • 4. Make unfeasible plans to take down the man
  • 5. Work for the man as a way getting the “in” while all along planning to take down the man from the inside (until years later, when the comfortable position acquired makes one slowly forget this step)

If anyone can enlighten me more on the man, please do so. I’m quite intrigued by the whole idea.

5 Comments »

  1. Jeeves, the man is just the man, you know, man?

    P.S. You’re furry – get out of my clean laundry.

    • Jeeves Said:

      But its so warm and fresh and cat-height.

  2. Hi Jeeves. Have you ever read Bertie and the Cat-Nappers? My master is reading it and chuckling and snickering. Bertie is in big trouble, but i am betting Jeeves will get him out of it at the end.

    You are ready for the maxims of La Rochefoucauld

    • Jeeves Said:

      Ah, yes, Bertie and the Cat-Nappers. Classic! I’m sure Jeeves won’t let you down.

      The maxims of La Rochefoucauld, eh? Will this enlighten me on the topic of human motivations, or more specifically, the man? I’ve mastered Cat French (miaou) but not not Human French yet. Perhaps I can get my paws on a translation.

      • It should be readily available in several translations. It will help you with human motivation. Those humans think it is all about them.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

